Who Is Authorized To Use TIF?

TIF authorities (referred to in the TIF Act as “authorities”) are municipalities or other governmental entities authorized by various development acts in Minnesota statutes to create TIF districts. TIF authorities may include cities, housing and redevelopment authorities (HRAs), port authorities, economic development authorities (EDAs), and rural development financing authorities. While most TIF authorities are cities or their HRAs, port authorities, or EDAs, a number of county HRAs (or similar entities) and one large metropolitan town are also active TIF authorities.

For more information, see Minnesota Statutes, section 469.174, subdivision 2, our annual TIF Legislative Reports and our Training Opportunities page.