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Acrticle for Minnesota Township News

The Impact of New FDIC Limits on Towns
By Rebecca Otto, State Auditor

In response to this fall’s financial crisis, Congress temporarily increased the amount of
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) protection for bank deposits. The new limit is
$250,000 per bank depositor, which includes government entities. All of the other FDIC rules
regarding public depositors will still apply. The new coverage limit has a “sunset provision”,
however, and will only be in effect through December 31, 2009.

This increase in FDIC protection comes at a time of increased bank failures. According to the
FDIC, only eleven banks failed in the United States between October 1, 2000 and December
31, 2007: since January 1, 2008, thirty-five banks have failed. Although the increased FDIC
coverage does provide increased protection to bank depositors, it is only temporary, which
could create some problems for town investments. This article will lay out potential issues
that could arise from the new limits, and how careful planning and monitoring can help towns
avoid them.

How A Town’s Investments Could Be Affected

The new limits offer increased protection for a town’s bank deposits, but they also create new
challenges for towns that purchase certificates of deposit (CDs).

If your town purchases CDs, you will now be able to purchase them in amounts insured up to
$250,000. The FDIC will cover the value of the CD and any interest that has accrued up to
$250,000.

Keeping this in mind, if you were to purchase a CD, make sure that it is an amount that will
allow the FDIC coverage to insure the principal and any accrued interest. For instance, your
town buys a CD in the amount of $250,000 at 5% interest paid quarterly, but the issuing bank
fails the day before interest is posted (or credited) to the CD. In such a case the FDIC will
only cover $250,000, the value of the CD, and the town will not collect the interest that had
accrued over three months -- at 5%, over $3,000. If, however, the town had purchased a CD
in the amount of $246,000 and the issuing bank failed the day before interest was posted, the
FDIC would cover your CD and the accrued interest up to $250,000.
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Protecting CDs That Mature After December 31, 2009

A CD with a value over $100,000 that matures after December 31, 2009 -- the sunset date for
the higher protection limits -- could present a different set of challenges in the face of a bank
failure. In this case, the amount of the CD over $100,000 would be uninsured, unbonded and
uncollateralized. Caution should be used in purchasing any CD with a value in excess of
$100,000 that would be due to mature after December 31, 2009.

Options for protecting your investment would depend on the type of CD you purchase. There
are two types of CDs: negotiable and deposit. A negotiable CD, frequently purchased from an
out-of-state bank, is transferable, and the issuing bank has no record as to who holds the CDs
it has issued. A deposit CD is frequently purchased from a local bank, which identifies your
town as the account holder. There is usually a penalty for early withdrawal of this type of
CD.

If your town holds a negotiable CD in excess of the FDIC limit from a bank outside the state
of Minnesota, your only option will probably be to sell the CD. This presents a situation
where you may lose money on the CD. Its value at the time of sale will be a function of its
interest rate and maturity date. The fact that the CD is now partially uninsured may also
affect its salability. The CD could be worth less at the time than the principal owed, in which
case the town may have a loss.

If your town holds a deposit CD in excess of the FDIC limit, you would either need to sell the
CD or obtain pledged collateral. If the depository that issues the CD declines to pledge
collateral, the town will have to cash in the CD -- and pay the penalty of early withdrawal. To
avoid this situation, your township can try to either negotiate with the depository bank to take
the early withdrawal provision out of the CD or to provide a waiver in writing. Alternatively,
it may be possible for the depository bank to agree in writing to collateralize the CD should it
ever become partially uninsured.

CDs That are Pledged as Collateral

Care should also be taken with CDs that are pledged as collateral for the protection of the
town deposits. If CDs are pledged as collateral and they are no longer completely insured by
the FDIC on January 1, 2010, other collateral will have to be obtained by the town to protect
its bank deposits.

There is the possibility that the temporary FDIC limits of $250,000 will be extended by
Congress past the December 31, 2009 sunset date. However, if the FDIC coverage limit
returns to $100,000 on that date, towns will need to monitor both the CDs they own and those
CDs pledged to protect town deposits. The temporary increase in FDIC coverage means that
towns will need to be extra vigilant, especially in these uncertain financial times.
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