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1. Deadline: City and Special District Financial Reporting Forms

2. Deadline: Town Financial Reporting Forms

3. Reminder: Submit Fire Relief Association Bylaws and Approvals
4. Avoiding Pitfalls: Uncashed Checks

1. Deadline: City and Special District Financial Reporting Forms
City Financial Reporting Form & Financial Statements

March 31st is the deadline for cities using the cash basis of accounting to submit their annual
financial reporting form. The form can be found at:

https://www.auditor.state.mn.us/safes/.

March 31st is also the deadline for cities using the cash basis of accounting to file their
audited or unaudited financial statements. Financial statement reporting regquirements can be
found at:

http://www.auditor.state.mn.us/def ault.aspx ?page=A ccountingDocs.

Special District Financial Reporting Form & Financial Statements

Specia District Financial Reporting Forms and financial statements are due March 31st for
districts with a fiscal year end of September 30, 2011. The Financial Reporting Form can be
found at:

https://www.auditor.state.mn.us/safes/.

2. Deadline: Town Financial Reporting Forms
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The Financia Reporting Forms for towns reporting on a cash basis are due on March 31. The
forms can be accessed at:

https://www.auditor.state.mn.us/safes/.

3. Reminder: Submit Fire Relief Association Bylaws and Approvals

Volunteer fire relief associations are required under state law to submit a revised copy of their
governing bylaws with the Office of the State Auditor (OSA) upon the adoption or approval
of any amendment. Please include copies of the relief association meeting minutes and
municipal meeting minutes or resolution reflecting the approval of the bylaw change(s) along
with the amended bylaws.

Relief associations that amended their bylaws during 2011 should, at the latest, submit the
amended bylaws and approvals to the OSA with the association’s 2011 reporting-year forms.
Relief associations with assets and liabilities of less than $200,000 are required to submit their
2011 reporting-year forms by March 31, 2012. Reporting forms for relief associations with
assets or liabilities of $200,000 or more are due by June 30, 2012.

4. Avoiding Pitfalls. Uncashed Checks

Political subdivisions sometimes issue checks that are never cashed or are returned as
undeliverable. Under Minnesota' s Unclaimed Property Laws, uncashed and returned checks
must generally be reported to the Minnesota Department of Commerce after three years. To
learn more, click on the following link to view a Department of Commerce publication:

http://www.state.mn.us/mn/external Docs/Commerce/Holders Report Information 03250301
4211 BigBook.pdf.

Additional information about unclaimed property can be found on the Department of
Commerce’ s website at http://mn.gov/commerce/topi cs/Unclaimed-Property/.

If you are interested in signing up to receive an e-mail version of the E-Update regularly,
click here.
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