

OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR E-Update

November 9, 2012

The official online news publication of the Office of the State Auditor

1. Deadline: Pension Reporting Information

2. Deadline: Forfeiture Reporting Form

3. Revised: Statement of Position

4. Avoiding Pitfalls: Local Government Compensation Limit

1. Deadline: Pension Reporting Information

State law requires forfeiture of fire state aid for volunteer fire relief associations that do not submit all required reporting information to the Office of the State Auditor by November 30. If 2011 reporting forms are not fully received by November 30, 2012, a relief association's 2012 fire state aid will be forfeited and the association will not be eligible for future fire state aid until the 2011 reporting forms are received. The Office of the State Auditor does not have authority to grant filing extensions past the November 30 deadline.

If you have questions regarding reporting requirements or need access to online reporting forms, please contact the Pension Division at (651) 282-6110 or pension@osa.state.mn.us.

2. Deadline: Forfeiture Reporting Form

November 20th is the deadline for law enforcement agencies to report final disposition of property seized subject to forfeiture for the month of October. To report final disposition of forfeitures, please go to:

https://www.auditor.state.mn.us/safes/.

3. Revised: Statement of Position

The Statement of Position entitled Administrative Citations for Traffic Violations has been revised for clarity. The revised Statement can be found at:

4. Avoiding Pitfalls: Local Government Compensation Limit

Minnesota law sets a compensation limit for local government employees. The limit is adjusted each year based on the Consumer Price Index. In recent years:

- Effective January 1, 2008, the limit was \$144,711.
- Effective January 1, 2009, the limit was \$150,065.
- Effective January 1, 2010, the limit remained at \$150,065.
- Effective January 1, 2011, the limit was \$151,866.
- Effective January 1, 2012, the limit was \$157,181.

The compensation limit applies to cities, counties, towns, and metropolitan or regional agencies, but not to school districts. Hospitals, clinics, and health maintenance organizations owned by governmental units are also not subject to the limit.

Detailed information on the compensation limit is available on the Minnesota Management & Budget website at: http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/comp-salarycap-waiver.

If you are interested in signing up to receive an e-mail version of the E-Update regularly, <u>click</u> here.

The Office of the State Auditor is located at 525 Park Street, Suite 500, St. Paul, MN 55103. Phone: (651) 296-2551 or (800) 627-3529 (TTY) Fax: (651) 296-4755. Web: www.auditor.state.mn.us.